E-ISSN 0331-8753 | ISSN 0794-5698

About Publisher

Publisher: Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto, Nigeria 


Brief History of the Institution

The Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto (formerly University of Sokoto) is one of the four Universities established by the Federal Government of Nigeria in September 1975, at which time three University Colleges (now full-fledged Universities) were established

Presently, there are Ten Faculties and a Postgraduate School in the University. The Faculties are: Agriculture, Arts and Islamic Studies, College of Health Sciences, Education and Extension Services, Law, Management Sciences, pharmaceutical Sciences and Veterinary Medicine. As the development programme is actively pursued, the following Faculties will be established: Food Sciences and Engineering.

The Nigerian Journal of Basic and Applied Sciences (NJBAS) a periodical of the University is domiciled in the Faculty of Science and Agriculture Complex, Main Campus, Wammako LGA, Sokoto, Nigeria.


Vision of the University

To be a centre of excellence in terms of teaching, research and community service in all fields of human endeavour i.e. arts, humanities, pure and applied sciences


Mission of the University

To provide quality, research and community service to deserving persons and communities, under the most conducive atmosphere and in line with the national policy on education, irrespective of social class, gender, race, nationality and religion; and to ensure that at all times it serves as a centre for the pursuit of research and academic excellence.